Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program

The Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship provides an opportunity for students to advance their education and anti-fraud career paths. Additionally, it supports their anti-fraud interests by providing a full year of ACFE membership. Award amounts are $10,000, $7,500, $5,000 and $2,000 and are paid directly to the recipient’s university or college.  

Congratulations to our 2024-2025 Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship recipients.


The scholarship program was established in 1992 to provide opportunities for students who had demonstrated achievement in fraud-related studies. In 1998, the program was renamed the Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship in honor of ACFE members Larry Jennings, CFE, and Tracy Ritchie, CFE. Both men were among five people fatally wounded during terrorist attacks in Karachi, Pakistan, on November 14, 1997.  

Male adult with short dark hair wearing striped dress shirt and black tie            Short-haired male with blue striped shirt. Mustache and smiling.

Tracy Ritchie             Larry Jennings

"Both men exemplified the true spirit of our organization with their devotion to detecting, investigating and deterring fraud and white-collar crime," said Dr. Joseph T. Wells, CFE, CPA, Chairman and founder of the ACFE.

Eligibility Criteria  

Eligible students must submit a completed scholarship application, official transcript(s), and two letters of recommendation from either a professor or someone who knows them on a professional level.

*Please note that it is recommended at least one letter be from a CFE* 

Eligibility Requirements

Interested students must demonstrate a desire to pursue a career in fraud examination or similar anti-fraud profession and:

  • Have a declared major or minor in accounting, business administration, finance, criminal justice or similar fraud-related discipline.   
  • Be currently enrolled at an accredited, four-year college or university and be enrolled through the 2025-2026 academic year.
  • Undergraduates must be enrolled in 9 semester hours (or equivalent) per term and must be a junior, senior, or at least in the second half of their sophomore year when applying.   
  • Graduates must be enrolled in 6 semester hours (or equivalent) per term. 


  • Past scholarship award recipients.
  • High school, junior college or community college students.
  • Undergraduates not in the second half of their sophomore year.
  • College or university students graduating in 2025 (must be enrolled through 2026).
  • ACFE chapter directors or officers.

Scholarship FAQs

How to Apply

The scholarship application period for the 2024-2025 academic year is closed. Applications for the 2025-2026 academic year will open in September and be available on the website. Eligible students can complete the online application here when it opens. The 2025-2026 schedule is as follows: 

  • Application Period Opens - September 9, 2024
  • Application Deadline - February 7, 2025
  • Recipients Announced - April 18, 2025
  • Awards Distributed - May 1, 2025

Selection and Non-Discrimination Policy

The ACFE Foundation does not discriminate based on race, religion, color, national origin, age, gender, disability or sexual orientation in any of its programs or activities.

Scholarships are awarded annually based on:

  • A completed application.
  • Fraud-related interests, activities, goals and desired career path.
  • Overall academic achievement demonstrated by transcripts.
  • Recommendation forms.