The Point System

Your eligibility to be certified is based upon a point system, which awards credit for education and experience.

All candidates certified by exam must have a minimum of two years fraud-related professional experience and 50 points. All points claimed for education must be from a recognized institution of higher learning.

If your total qualifying points total 40 or above, you may apply for the CFE Exam, but all applicants must have 50 or more points and two years of professional experience to become certified.


Professional Experience Quantity Points
Each full year* of fraud-related experience** 0
Education and Certifications
Bachelor's Degree or Equivalent 0
Each full year of college (if no degree, max. of 40 pts.) 0
Master's Degree or Equivalent 0
Ph.D., J.D., or Equivalent 0
Other Professional Certifications 0
Total Points   0
* Concurrent experience in more than one area cannot be claimed

** At the time of certification, candidates must have at least two years of professional experience in a field either directly or indirectly related to the detection or deterrence of fraud. Candidates lacking two years professional fraud-related experience can take the exam as long as they have a minimum of 40 points, and can become officially certified once the professional experience requirement is met.

Apply for the CFE Exam